Fri. Mar 24th, 2023
Cricket regime headed by Ramiz Raja is no more: Sethi – SUCH TV

Following the dissolution of the Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) constitution, chairman of the management committee of the sport’s governing body Najam Sethi announced that the “cricket regime headed by Ramiz Raja is no more”.

“The cricket regime headed by Ramiz Raja is no more. The 2014 PCB constitution stands restored,” tweeted Sethi.

The former PCB chairman said that the management committee, which is being headed by him, will “work tirelessly” to revive first-class cricket.

“Thousands of cricketers will be employed again. The famine in cricket will come to an end,” said Sethi.

The tweet came after the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) led government constituted a 14-member committee to take over the working of PCB for 120 days before conducting elections under the 2014 constitution.

The federal cabinet has given approval for the restoration of the 2014 constitution via circulation.

Under the changes, the office of the CEO has been abolished and departmental cricket has been restored in the country.

The government-mandated committee includes Najam Sethi (Chairman), Shakil Sheikh, Gul Zada, Aized Syed, Tanvir Ahmed, Gul Muhammad Kakar, Ayaz Butt, Nauman Butt, Shahid Afridi, Shafqat Rana, Haroon Rashid, Sana Mir, Mustafa Ramday and Chaudhry Arif Saeed.

The management committee will streamline the PCB affairs for at least 120 days before conducting the elections in conformity with the 2014 PCB constitution that has already been vetted by the Ministry of Law, with some minor amendments.

The PCB’s 2019 Constitution, implemented by former chairman Ehsan Mani, does not allow the prime minister to withdraw or remove the incumbent chairman of the board, after which a vote of no-confidence by a three-fourth majority of the governing board is the only way to remove the PCB chief.

Also Read  FIFA probing celebrity chef’s undue access | The Express Tribune

After Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman Imran Khan assumed the PM office in 2018, Sethi resigned and Mani took charge after his departure. After completing his three-year term, Mani refused an extension last year after which Ramiz Raja took control of the board.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *